Meet 16-Year-Old Michael Moore-Jones, A Social Media Star

Posted: March 4, 2011 in Week #6

Upon completing my teen interview blog, I had a mission on my hands: find a teen blogger who can set a worthy example for teens who need more guidance with social media. After searching high and low, and from one continent to the next, I’ve found someone truly talented.

I’m Michael Moore-Jones – a 16-year-old New Zealander passionate about technology and business. I’m the founder of They Don’t Teach You This In School. These posts are sometimes a way for me to sort my thoughts out in my own head, and other times I write them because I really want to share ideas and hear others’ thoughts on them. Whether it’s criticism or your own view on the subject, I hope you’ll share them with me in the comments – feedback is the reason I blog.

In his most recent blog, Examining Teenage Social Media Habits, Michael is interviewed by the PR and Social Media firm Racepoint Group. Together, they examine the bizarre phenomenon of New Zealand teens’ downright disdain for Twitter. Michael makes some clever observations on the topic.

While it may seem as though once teens enter the working world and realize the value that Twitter offers they may start using it, I believe there is a weird mentality amongst teens about Twitter that means they will never adopt it. In researching the reasons why teens don’t tweet, I asked numerous teens at my school “Do you use Twitter? What do you think of it?”. The response I got was usually a laugh, followed by something along the lines of “Are you kidding me? Twitter is so lame”. A couple of people even said “Isn’t Twitter for little kids?” I think that when the vast majority of a generation shares that view of a web product or service, they won’t adopt it even if they move into a position where it does solve a problem for them. It could even be to do with the branding of Twitter – fluffy blue logo and little birds. Teens don’t like using something that seems immature and young, even if it is useful (part of wanting to be older and grow up). So no, I believe that my generation will never adopt Twitter en-masse, even when we move into the real-world.

Although it’s obvious that teens in the U.S. deftly use Twitter for entertainment purposes, both American and New Zealand teens aren’t being guided to use Twitter to its full capacity. I think if American teens knew how their Kiwi counterparts felt about Twitter, they would have a new perspective on social media.

For anyone searching for inspiration for writing their blogs, just listen to Michael speak about why he writes:

I just thought I’d write this post to collate my own thoughts, and also to ask for feedback – check out the website, watch some videos, leave a comment. Would really appreciate it as feedback is how we’re planning to grow.

I really love that this guy is using social media as a way to grow as a human being. There’s nothing more significant than gaining insight from our blog readers, and using a blog as a springboard for others is awe inspiring.

Going through this process of finding someone to “crowdsource,” I’ve come across blogs from around the world that touch on a wide variety of topics. If you can think of it, chances are there’s a blog that covers it. But the truly great thing about starting your own blog is that it provides an opportunity to a put a unique spin on how you view the world. I think Michael said it best about how he feels after posting a new blog:

More than anything, this post has allowed me to clear these thoughts within my own head. Sometimes when I pick up a book, I wish I could just absorb the five most interesting points from it without spending the time reading it. I hope that in a way this post has done the same for you.

Thank you for that inspiring statement, Michael.

 

 

Leave a Reply

