Sunday May 1st, 2011 9:28 PM

Posted: May 4, 2011 in Week #14

On my way home from a concert at Yoshi’s in Oakland, CA, I logged into my Twitter account on my smartphone. My eyes couldn’t believe what they were reading. Twitter was literally overflowing with the breaking news. As I read the tweet out loud, I glanced up at the clock. It read 9:28 pm.

“Osama bin Laden was killed,” I said.

My partner and I held hands and both rejoiced at the news. I immediately thought of my former co-worker and dear friend Michelle, who lost her fiancĂ© on 9/11. I was flooded with all the memories she shared with me about what a wonderful guy he was. It still feels like yesterday that my father woke me up and shouted that a plane had just crashed into the World Trade Center. As I sat there in the passenger seat last Sunday, I began to feel overwhelmed with a series of mixed emotions; happiness, sadness, anger, frustration, and biggest of all, confusion. “Why did it take nearly 10 years to catch and kill this guy,” I thought.

When I got home, I took to my Tweetdeck and read through all of my go-to’s: @breakingnews, @nytimes, @producermatthew, and @cnn. I then clicked on YouTube to watch President Obama’s speech. After all the confirmation, I called my friend Michelle and we shared a good cry together. Just like 9/11, I knew this day would go down in history. I felt proud to be an American.

Leave a Reply

